What a Vegan Eats in a Week – Part I

nutritious. tasty. affordable. ethical.

bloglogo

PART I: BREAKFAST // BRUNCH

This is an example of a week of vegan breakfasts and brunches.  [It isn’t necessarily a “this is how every vegan should eat” post, rather a “this is how I eat” post.]

2425

This is something I typically eat on cooler mornings, perhaps before a jog or workout.  I prefer an especially filling breakfast on days I exercise more intensely.  Oats are a breakfast must-have for me because it’s such a versatile food.

One cup of oats [150 calories, 6 grams of protein]

One tablespoon of hemp seeds [40 calories, 5 grams of protein]

One cup of vanilla almond milk [50 calories, 1 gram of protein]

Two tablespoons of peanut butter [180 calories, 8 grams of protein]

A half cup of raisins [200 calories, 2 grams of protein]

2421

This combination provides plenty of energy for me in the morning hours and allows me to stay full until I have the time to get into the kitchen and make a healthy meal for myself (which is usually a priority].

Cashew and date Larabar [230 calories, 6 grams of protein]

Ripe banana [90 calories, 1 gram of protein]

2423

Fruit juice is life.   [I couldn’t find the nutrition info online for this juice because it’s local]

2422

This is a common breakfast item for me because unfortunately it isn’t nutritionally adequate to just have the jar of jelly with a spoon.  I function better with a moderately high carb intake so this is usually a sufficient meal until afternoon.  Apologies for the paper plate, I have zero elegance in the morning.

Wheat English muffin [120 calories, 5 grams of protein]

One tablespoon vegetable oil buttery spread [100 fat-calories, 0 protein, 0 fucks given]

Two tablespoons peanut butter [200 calories, 7 grams of protein]

One tablespoon grape jelly [50 calories, 0 protein]

One tablespoon flax seeds [50 calories, 2 grams of protein]

Four ounces medium roast Arabic coffee with two teaspoons of raw sugar [30 calories, 0 protein] & a splash of vanilla soy milk [25 calories, 1 gram of protein]

2420

I used to really enjoy bagels with cream cheese for breakfast growing up, and this is such a satisfying treat for occasional morning cravings.

Wheat bagel [310 calories, 13 grams of protein]

Two tablespoons Daiya cream cheese style spread [90 calories, 1 gram of protein]

 

 This is a bit more of a brunch option, and is interchangeable if you like to use a lot of different toppings.  Just mash a ripe avocado with lemon juice, nutritional yeast, and salt.  I’ve been known to add tomato, onion, and various seeds when I want an energy boost.

2426

Quite a filling brunch but it takes a few minutes to prepare.  Great for a weekend midmorning with time to sit and digest.  Ciabatta bread with mashed garbanzo beans mixed with nutritional yeast, salt, and lemon juice topped with cucumber slices and hemp seeds.

247

Scrambled pan fried tofu with onions and spinach.  I soaked the tofu in a sauce of chilli powder, garlic powder, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, and water, which gave it a surprisingly egg-like flavor.  I topped it with hot sauce and added some sweet potato hashbrowns for a complete and satisfying breakfast.

3 thoughts on “What a Vegan Eats in a Week – Part I

Leave a Reply

